The One Lovely Blog Award

Better late than never! Today I accept The One Lovely Blog Award granted to me (um, two weeks ago) by fellow blogger, Eva Rieder. Eva’s blog exudes enthusiasm, so if you’re ever down in the writerly dumps, I’d suggest stopping on by…she’s just a click away! Eva gives practical, positive advice, and is quite the prolific writer herself.

Like other awards swimming through Blogdom, this one comes with its own set of rules:

1. Thank the nominator (Thanks, Eva :))
2. Mention several random facts about myself
3. Nominate fifteen other bloggers

Here we go…

Seven Random Facts:

1. I love Thomas Kinkade paintings. I realize Mr. Kinkade is not taken seriously in the art world, but I find his work soothing. When I get stressed out—which is often—I like to flip through his coffee table books, and relish in the places he creates. Somehow, he engages all my senses. I have two-framed pieces and a stitched canvas hanging in my bedroom. RIP Tommy K.

2. I was named after my great-grandmother who died just a few days before my birth. She had wanted so badly to meet me :(

3. There is a set of five sisters on both sides of my family. My paternal grandmother and her four sisters, and my mother’s first cousins.

4. Until I was twenty-five years old, I had all four grandparents in my life. And the two couples were such good friends! I realize now how rare that was and feel very blessed. I still have two left.

5. I have a gumball machine in my “office” (a spare bedroom in my house). It’s about half-full and takes pennies.

6. I used to be terrified of driving on the highway. Only when I got a boyfriend from a town where highway travel was necessary, did I bite the bullet and burn some rubber. I was about twenty-three years old. Laaaame.

7. My earliest memory is the day my Bichon Frise, Louie, was hit and killed by a car. I was three; I remember my mother running down the driveway with a pink towel.

And now for the nominations…

I’ve decided to take Eva’s lead, and nominate just one, very special blogger. Abrielle Valencia. Abrielle’s blog is like listening to Alicia Keys’ “Superwoman.” She’s empowering, inspirational, and one hell of a writer. Abrielle knows exactly (as she puts in a favorite post of mine) what it means to be a lady.

Thank you again to Eva, and all my followers. Keep writing.

2 Comments

Filed under Awards, Inspiration

2 responses to “The One Lovely Blog Award

  1. Abrielle Valencia

    Wow! Katherine, I’m so honored and humbled. Thank you so much for your kind words. Linking me to Alicia Keys is a HUGE compliment. I was having a rough week so far, but you just made me day! :-) :-)

  2. Your very, very welcome, Abrielle. You totally deserve it!

Leave a Reply

