Old School Sundays: Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein

In this first edition of Old School Sundays, I bring to you a line from Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein:

“Learn from me, if not by my precepts, at least by my example, how dangerous is the acquirement of knowledge, and how much happier that man is who believes his native town to be the world, than he who aspires to become greater than his nature will allow” (31).

Back in 2003 when I first read this novel, we’d just gone to war with Middle East. Small protests erupted on campus. In some ways, that war, like many others was a fight over knowledge–who is right and who is wrong. In our day there are sweeping advances in technology, science, and medicine. The advantages seem obvious, but if we aren’t careful, like Victor Frankenstein, we could wind up creating a monster.

Berk Özdemir → in Graphics

6 Comments

Filed under Old School Sundays

6 responses to “Old School Sundays: Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein

  1. Old School Sundays is an awesome idea. I look forward to more of these!
    Love these words. Technology can be a great healer and make our lives so much better, but as always, if wielded by the wrong hands, it can also be the very end of us. This concept a great theme for stories!
    I’ve never read Frankenstein. This excerpt makes me want to. :)

  2. Thanks Kirsten! It’s fun taking those old dust-covered books off my shelves and making some use of them :)

  3. I look forward to reading more Old School Sundays posts!! Also, I just awarded you The Illuminating Blogger Award! :) I hope you’ll accept! http://jleesblog.com/2012/10/03/the-illuminating-blogger-award/

  4. Thank you so much! I will definitely accept :)

  5. What a fantastic idea, Katherine! Makes me want to circle back to my goal of reading more classics- there is so much to learn and learn again.

Leave a Reply

