Serene Saturdays: Irish Wisdom

This magnet has been on my refrigerator for years now. Many times I’ve stopped to read it, reveling in the perfection of its rhyme scheme and Irish-sounding maxim.

photo(10)

It was given to us by a friend, who likely picked up my husband’s half-Irish pride. I too, have some Irish blood mixed into my “mutt-like” ethnic background, but I’ve always been able to identify with their culture. Throughout history, the country has survived some less than “lucky” periods. Yet its people have somehow remained some of the grateful in all the world. There is a clinging to pride among the Irish, and a kind of zeal that simply cannot be broken. I don’t think I’ve ever met an Irishmen who wasn’t more than happy to boast of his heritage.

One night last week, I passed by refrigerator in my usual fashion and for some reason, decided to pause and read the delightful words on the magnet. And then? Well, I don’t know what happened exactly, but I started to…cry.

PMS?

Too much wine?

I’m just a freak? (This is one my hubby would agree with)

Dunguaire Castle Nicolas Raymond → in Constructions

None of the above. It was the words. They moved me. In case you can’t read the magnet above, I’ll type them out below:

MAY YOU ALWAYS BE BLESSED

WITH WALLS FOR THE WIND.

A ROOF FOR THE RAIN,

A WARM CUP OF TEA BY THE FIRE.

LAUGHTER TO CHEER YOU.

THOSE YOU LOVE NEAR YOU.

AND ALL THAT YOUR HEART MIGHT DESIRE.

(Irish Blessing)

I cried because I’ve been driving myself crazy with all that I don’t have. I don’t have a house in Bergen County.  I don’t have an agent. I don’t have a publisher making me a star. I don’t have a slot on the New York Times Bestseller List. I don’t have as rockin’ a body as I did high school (if I even did then). The list goes on.

But that magnet? It put things in perspective. It was like an epiphany. Here’s a country that has gone through so much torment, so much struggle. It’s true. Having a warm home, good people and laughter in your life, (and of course tea and a fireplace 🙂 ) really is a blessing. Think about how more than half of this world lives.

I have all those things. Well, not a fireplace, but I grew up in house that had one.

It hit me so hard and I didn’t even see it coming: I’m blessed.

If I never get any of those things I mentioned above, I’m still blessed. Doesn’t mean I won’t try of course, and that in and of itself, the fact that I’m able to attempt my dreams, is of course, it’s own blessing.

It knocked the stress right out of me.

Maybe if we all stopped wanting we could calm down as well. And in my opinion, inner-peace is the root of happiness.

16 Comments

Filed under Serene Saturdays, Uncategorized

16 responses to “Serene Saturdays: Irish Wisdom

  1. Lovely post and reminder – even in the midst of a bloody awful cold, I’m know I’m fortunate.

  2. What beautiful words to live by. Sometimes it’s good to step back and remember how little we really need to be truly happy, and how much we need to value what we have. Great post for a chilly winter night. 🙂

  3. So true! Concentrating on what we lack over what we have. It sounds so trite- “Count your blessings” but it is really one of the greatest things we can do for ourselves and each other. Thanks for the reminder.

    PS- I’m reminded of another saying I love (can’t remember who said it): “If the only prayer you ever say is ‘Thank you,’ that is enough.”

    • I like the “thank you” prayer…another very relevant piece of wisdom. I agree that the whole “count your blessings” thing seems trite. Just the sound of it, etc. But when one stops and thinks about it, like I did, it seemed like a completely new concept. Sometimes we just need to stop and think, or look at it in a different way.

  4. It’s easy to fall into that mindset. We all could use a fridge magnet to give us a kick in the … attitude. 😉

  5. Such truth in the words on that magnet! Of course, we could always think of all the stuff we don’t have, but that leaves us feeling empty. Not a good feeling at all – much better to find joy with what we do have 🙂

  6. A great reminder to us all to count our blessings . . .

  7. Yes indeed, words to live by.

  8. In the end, it’s moments we live that comprise our life. Kudos to the Irish for stating it so well; kudos to you for stopping long enough by your magnet to take it in; and kudos to all of us trying to live more simply in presence! BTW I love your line, ‘it hit me so hard and I didn’t even see it coming . . . It knocked the stress right out of me.’ Thanks for the great post!!

    • Hi Sarah! Thank you so much for stopping by! The Irish really do know what they are talking about, don’t they? 🙂 I know in some ways it seems trite, but I really believe that being grateful is such an important lesson to learn. We hear it so often that we disregard its true meaning. I had to really internalize it to get any kind of reaction!

Leave a Reply

