The Inspiring Blog Award

Well, I think you should get on your knees, fan your arms and tell me that you aren’t worthy…because I’ve been bestowed with the Inspiring Blog Award by the sensationally lurid Jlee over at Jlee’s Blog.

As many women of my mother’s generation would say, Jlee is a “scream.” She simply does not hold back. She experiments (see the Banana Diet), she crafts (check out the leopard print wine glasses), and she reviews Lifetime movies (Lindsay Lohan never saw it coming).

But Jlee is more than that; she’s a serious writer who speaks candidly about her personal struggles and in a single blog post can have you feeling every emotion known to mankind. Plus, she’s a loyal blogger friend who always has your back.

That being said, you’d be crazy not to check out her blog.

Here are Jlee’s revised rules—the rules I’m following:

1. Display award image on your blog page
2. Link back to the person who nominated you
3. State what inspires you
4. Nominate 5 others for this award
5. Notify said bloggers

What inspires me?

I’m motivated by the attainment of peace. I tend to struggle with stress and anxiety, and long to achieve my own personal nirvana. Each day I search for small ounces of peace, things that bring me serenity, even for only a moment. A lighted candle, a single cardinal among a bunch of sparrows, the fluid movements of my cats, old family photographs, or simply the delectable quietness I can sometimes find in any given situation.

I don’t fear getting older, because I believe that as I grow I’ll get closer to peace. I’ve always said that it’s my ultimate goal in life—to achieve a strong sense of inner strength, to find the spring of calm deep within me.

2happy → in Sky & Clouds

Who inspires me?

Kirsten at A Scenic Route has shown me the importance of writing as a process as opposed to the final product. She’s also inspired me to have actual conversations with my characters!

Deborah at Living on the Edge of Wild has inspired me to see past the fast-paced world of 2013 and slip into the beauty of nature. She’s taken me (and many other readers) on virtual “walks” with her beautiful photography and mystical observations.

Abrielle Valencia has taught me many valuable lessons in obtaining personal strength and using it to my advantage. She’s shown me how to look my critics in the face and say, “nobody’s going to bring me down today.”

Vikki at The View Outside has shown me the power of tenacity. Vikki never stops working and her persistence will likely lead her to success. This has taught me to keep strong, keep going, and keep writing.

Julia at Defeat Despair has inspired me to always lift the positive energy up from the depths of ‘despair.’ The beautiful images on her blog convey a sense of beauty in a sometimes sad world.

Thanks again to Jlee and these five wonderful bloggers who help remind me why I do all of this in the place!

21 Comments

Filed under Awards

21 responses to “The Inspiring Blog Award

  1. Congratulations on your award – and what a heart-warming blogpost! I’ll be checking out Jlee for sure!

  2. Congrats on the award. Love your thoughts about attaining peace. Such an elusive goal sometimes, isn’t it? Good for you for making a conscious effort to get there.

    • Thanks Carrie. It really IS an elusive goal. So difficult to keep track of. I often have to redirect myself to get back on that path. But to me, it’s important enough to aim for.

  3. You so deserve this! I always feeled inspired when I read your “Old School Sunday” posts.

  4. Thank you for the kind comments about me. I’m so touched. Really. 🙂 And I love your goal of attaining peace.

  5. Thanks for mentioning me here, Katie. I think you are on the right track; I wish I’d even been aware of, much less started to address, my overwhelming anxiety decades ago when I was still literally young (instead of only young at heart as now). And speaking of young at heart, I did go to Jlee’s blog; what a total scream. Sort of like Anne Lamott on steroids, and I mean that in a nice way. Seriously, I’ll have to go read Jlee whenever I don’t have anyone around to talk me off the ledge. I totally love the crayon picture she made, and wish someone would send me one like it. Thanks again for your kind words about my blog!

    • You’re welcome, Julia. It’s never too late to deal with anxiety issues! That’s why as I grow, I think my own problems will lessen. I’m glad you checked out Jlee…she’s the best!

  6. 😀 Wow, thank you! The thought that I am providing inspiration for someone on the same path puts a big smile on my face, and I really appreciate your comment about my emphasis on process. Well put, although I should add that I really hope to have a finished product someday too!
    And, doesn’t everyone talk to their characters? 😉

    • You’re welcome! I’d like a finished product as well, but it used to be that ALL I was focused on was the finished product. And I’ve learned that it’s so important to embrace the process…it’s like Oprah says, “Once you make the process the goal, the big dream will follow” (I think I’m paraphrasing a bit there).

  7. Pingback: BLOG AWARD: Stepping into the Spotlight | SCATTERBRAIN

  8. Abrielle Valencia

    @ Katie,
    First and foremost, congrats on your award! Well deserved! I’m not surprised. 🙂 You are such a talented writer….you were born for this. Second, thank you so much for your kind words. That truly made my day. I hope that I will continue to inspire you as YOU have inspired me. xoxo

  9. Awwwww, thank you so much! 🙂

    Xx

  10. Congrats! I think we all struggle to find our place and peace in our lives. It’s harder than it looks and much harder than it should be. I’d say keep a journal for all your thoughts, get them out of your head, but I suspect you already do this. I am looking forward to checking out the other bloggers.

    • Thanks Brenda. I do keep a journal, but I often use it to rant out my negative feelings. Your comment make me think though, maybe use it to bring the positive things alive…as in along my journey to peace!

Leave a Reply

